Joe LoCascio


Joe LoCascio, a native New Yorker, has resided in Houston since 1977. A prolific performer/composer, he has seventeen recordings to his credit, many featuring his original music and have attained prominent radio airplay nationally and abroad.

A student of David Barnett, John Mehegan and Neil Slater at the University of Bridgeport, LoCascio went on to perform and record with major jazz figures such as Chet Baker, Randy Brecker, Dave Liebman, Frank Rehak, Freddie Hubbard, Mel Lewis, Bob Brookmeyer, George Coleman, Pharoah Sanders, Marvin Stamm, Carl Fontana, Michael Moore, Hank Crawford, Ernie Watts, Arnett Cobb and Kirk Whalum among others. Music critics nationwide have acclaimed him as one of the finest artists on the contemporary scene.

He is currently a full-time member of the Fine Arts faculty at Houston Community College, a position he has held since 2000. He teaches Improvisation, Arranging and Composition, Jazz Ensemble, Music Fundamentals and Music Appreciation.

Among his works are a Concerto for Tenor Saxophone and Orchestra commissioned by the Baytown Symphony Orchestra, 4 Madrigals for the Witt/Gelok Duo, Gently Criminal for the Cypress Philharmonic Orchestra, Saltwater Music for the Alkali String Ensemble, Crossings and Still Life (with Clarinets) for Richard Nunemaker, In the Wilderness, The Cities and Urban Mosaics for Trio Oriens, Crossroads for the NOVACANE Clarinet Quartet and 4 Bagatelles and Northwest Passage for the PLAY Saxophone Quartet. Recent premiers include Oblique Prayers for the Texas New Music Ensemble (TNME), a Violin Sonata and a Flute Sonata.


Learn more about Applause to the Musician Interview:

Join Applause to the Musician Facebook:

Join Applause to the Musician Instagram:



Good stories are meant to be shared, click the button below and share with your friends.

More from Applause to the Musician

Virtuosi of Houston Alumni & Senior Students

Picture from Left to Right: Wilson Hui, Violin |  Andrew Cliburn, Clarinet ...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *